Student demonstrating Maths equations on blackboard

The GCSE Maths course gently guides the student through basic mathematical skills, progressing onto more advanced material as the student’s skills and abilities develop. The course is divided into two parts: the first is for all students; the second is for those who will be taking the Higher tier of the examination.

Each lesson begins with a set of clearly stated objectives and an explanation of its place in the overall programme of study.

Effective learning is encouraged through frequent activities and self-assessment questions.

There are thirteen tutor-marked assignments and a practice exam paper.The course covers the entire syllabus in 12 modules, with a 13th on the examination.

Module One: Numbers

Module Two: Money

Module Three: Measurement

Module Four: Basic Algebra

Module Five: Basic Trigonometry and Vectors

Module Six: Basic Geometry

Module Seven: Further Geometry

Module Eight: Probability and Statistics

Further Modules Required for Higher Course

Module Nine: Further Numbers and Equations

Module Ten: Higher Algebra Topics

Module Eleven: Further Geometry and Trigonometry

Module Twelve: Further Probability and Statistics

Module Thirteen: Your Exam

Our GCSE Maths course prepares students for AQA GCSE Mathematics 8300 linear specification for exams in 2017 and later years. We have chosen this syllabus as it is the most suited to distance learning (an IGCSE Maths course is also available).

Assessment is by three equally weighted 90 minute written papers. There is one non-calculator exam and two calculator exams.

There are two levels of difficulty: Foundation and Higher. The Higher tier (8300H) exams are for students who hope to achieve grades 4-9 (9 is the top grade); the (8300F) Foundation tier is for grades 1-5.

The exam papers are the same length, irrespective of the tier you are entering for, but the Higher papers include more difficult questions.

Supporting Resources

Connect with Oxford Home Schooling