Oxford Open Learning

Other A Level Home Education

English Literature A Level

English Literature A level Home Schooling – The Course

The English Literature A Level course is split into two major components – AS and A2. The AS level may be sat as a  separate qualification in its own right.

Each lesson begins with a set of clearly stated objectives and an explanation of its place in the overall programme of study.

Effective learning is encouraged through frequent activities and self-assessment questions.

There are eighteen tutor-marked assignments (known as TMAs).

Key Topics Covered

The course structure reflects the new 4 modules A level structure, the key topics, are shown below;

AS Level

  • Introduction to Victorian Literature
  • Tennyson: Selected Poetry
  • Charlotte Bronte: Jane Eyre
  • Tom Stoppard: Arcadia

A2 Level

  • Love through the Ages
  • Literary Connections
    • Thomas Hardy: Tess of the D’Urbervilles
    • John Fowles: The French Lieutenant’s Woman
    • Shakespeare: Othello


The Syllabus

This course prepares candidates for the AQA English Literature AS level syllabus 1740, for examination in 2015 or 2016 (the last year for this specification). Most candidates will then study the A2 syllabus 2740. The full Advanced Level qualification comprises AS and A2.

Assessment is by one written 2 hour examination paper and one piece of extended coursework at AS level. The same applies at A2 level. Oxford Home Schooling has chosen this syllabus as it is the most suitable for home learners.


At AS level students will write a response to the set prose text and a response to the drama text. Full details are provided within the course.

At A2 level, students have the opportunity to write a sustained comparative essay on three texts of their own choice (including one Shakespeare play)  linked by a specific theme, in this case desire.

Within A Level Home Education there are the following subjects

Apply Online